Interview with Holley Mangold

I am so, so incredibly excited for today’s blog post.

So a few years back, Holley Mangold was on an episode of True Life entitled I’m The Big Girl.  I loved the episode, and after seeing it premiere, I decided that I wanted to get in touch with Holley because she seemed like SUCH a cool girl.  In the episode, as a bigger girl training for the Olympics, she navigated what it was like to be a bigger girl, but the entire episode, Holley carried herself with such a confidence that she radiated beauty.  Big or small, she seemed like a beautiful girl.  So I reached out to her after her stint on “The Biggest Loser,” and she and her sister were so gracious that they let me interview her, and offered to keep in touch with me!  Yes please!  Huge fan over here!  So without further ado, Holley Mangold! (And shout out to Kelley for being awesome and letting me email her like a million times!)

image

First off, what did you eat for dinner last night? (We’ll start with the fun stuff).  

I ate one of my pre-made modPaleo meals. It was seasoned chicken and veggies.  I love the simplicity of being able to have healthy food in my freezer that I can just heat up. Now that I eat mostly organic, free-range food, there’s really no going back. I just feel so much better.

 Like I said, I’ve been following you since you were aspiring to be an Olympic weightlifter.  The entire episode [True Life] was based on the fact that you were “the big girl” and you seemed pretty confident in that.  What made you want to make a change?  Was it for your health?  Was it for confidence?

I have always been confident at any size. I really wanted to take my lifting to the next level and my coach kept wanting me to get some of my weight off. I decided that the biggest loser would help me to be healthier than I was and would help me get the weight off faster than I could on my own.

 You talked a bit about dating in your MTV episode of True Life.  Has any of your dating life picked up?  Or are you too busy for boys right now? 

MTV really wanted me to focus on that for some reason? Maybe a drama factor but I’ve never really been one to get tied down to a place which makes it hard for dating. I’m happily content with someone right now who’s understanding of my traveling-training lifestyle.

I could be wrong, but during your episode on MTV, it seemed like there was some tension between you and your brother?  Is that true, or has he been supportive of your journey?

There was a lot that my brother and I had to work through while making our own names for ourselves but really, he’s a big brother like any- he wants the best for me and I want the best for him. He’s the one that made me want to get into football and was really the start to this crazy journey that I’m on.  I love being able to spend so much time with him and his family while he’s home for the off season.

Now that you’ve lost a really considerable amount of weight, and you’re still lifting incredibly well, what are your plans?  Are you happy at your weight, or are you hoping to lose more? 

RIO 2016 is my main focus. I came up a little after finale but am happy staying right around 270. I really just want to keep building my strength.

 Do you feel like your weight loss has affected your lifting?  Are you currently enjoying any other types of exercise? 

Coming back to weightlifting after being on the ranch was hard- I lost a ton of my strength. It didn’t take long to get back to close to where I was. But seriously, If I wasn’t training non-stop for RIO, I’d be soul cycling every day. I fell in love with it in LA but it isn’t great for my lifting. I also am obsessed with Hot Yoga- its perfect after a hard workout!

image

 I have worked the past few summers at weight loss camp which has been an incredible experience.  I have loved seeing folks make huge transformations.  What was your experience on the Ranch?  Did you love it?  Was there any point that you hated it and you wanted to go home?  Would you go back (if that was a thing?)

That’s an awesome idea! Weightloss and being healthy is not easy- it must be so cool to see people go through that transformation. It’s really changing your whole lifestyle. The ranch was kinda like rehab for big people. I’m used to being away from my family for long periods of time for training so for me it really wasn’t as hard for me as it was for other people. The cardio was crazy but my team was so awesome. The best part of my journey is how many amazing people I’ve met along the way- blue team especially! I am not a huge fan of Hollywood politics and drama so there were definitely points that I was ready to go back to real life. After I was brought back on the show, I had already felt what it was like to be home and back to weightlifting so I was ready to just get into my own routine, in my own house, at my own gym. Now, I still keep in touch with my blue team friends and would do a reunion with them if it came up.

 What do you feel like was one of the most important things you learned for weight loss while you were on the ranch?   

I lost a little bit of weight between years in grad school, and from losing that weight, there are some things I definitely will not touch, one of those being Coco-Cola.  Do you have anything like that that you won’t touch?

And to this second, how much total weight have you lost?

Congrats on the weightloss! I’m thinking that overly processed foods are things that I stay away from. Because of our extreme dieting, dairy doesn’t really agree with me so anything extra dairy filled stays out of my diet too. I really like to live in moderation and not get too mad at myself if I try some crazy food- I just get back on track with my modPaleo food. On the show, I lost 96 pounds but I’m steady at about 80lbs lost.

And finally, I’m sure you’ve gotten so many questions about this.  Can you tell me anything about the situation with Rachel?  I know you can’t necessarily speak on if she is healthy or not, but how was it seeing her at the finale?  Any thoughts on some of the comments from the cyberverse on her condition?

Yeah, It’s hard to say really- Biggest Loser is set up as a competition and Rachel is super competitive. It was hard to see her so skinny but I know that she’s back up to a more healthy weight now. I really hope all the best for her and all the contestants. Long-term weightloss is hard and an everyday battle (I’ve watched my mom go through it).

And finally, as you embark on a journey toward the 2016 Olympics, what do you want people to know about you? 

I think that I want people to know that I try to do everything honestly and whole-heartily. I never want to pretend that I’m somebody that I’m not. I love teightlifting, I love seeing people be happy and feeling strong; empowered to do anything that you feel like doing. And, I want them to know that I’m not retired- I’m working as hard as I know how to represent USA in the best way I know how!

 And with that, we signed off!  Holley has a new fan, and was incredible to talk to and work with!  Let me know if you have any additional questions for her and I will pass them her way!

 

I brought my neti pot to work.

You may feel as though I’m a very glamorous woman, seeing as how I spent the better half of yesterday and today filming for an ESPN show that primarily airs in Latin American Nations, however, that is not the case, and after spending the better half of yesterday outside with that yellow pollen stuff floating around, I officially feel awful.

No congestion just yet, but my throat is on fire, and I want to die a little bit.  All of this is going on three days until Rock ‘n’ Roll Raleigh.  Ah well.

So anyhoo, when I’m feeling terrible, I pack up my plastic Neti Pot.

imgresAnd I pack the little saline packet that comes with it, pack an extra water bottle (so it’s clean water that I’m using), and head to the secret bathroom on the third floor to get to work.

I flush a few times a day when my throat is really sore, in hopes that I can at least get some of the yellow powder out of my nasal cavities, and because the warm water feels amazing on the back of my throat.  Fun fact: someone once walked in on me and looked disgusted with me, but jokes on her, cause it made my throat feel amazing and now I will never share my pot with her.

I’m not a doctor, but I”m convinced that this this totally heals.

Anyone else neti? Know what I’m talking about?

 

So a Haitian, and two Argentinians walk into Fleet Feet…

Kinda sounds like a joke, right?

Well it happened.  Except I made a rookie mistake and I didn’t snap a selfie, so I just have to tell you what I was doing with an Argentinian camera crew.  So enjoy today’s favorite gif instead.

So a few weeks back Competitor Group, the group that puts on Rock ‘n’ Roll contacted me – ESPN Run, a division of ESPN that’s really big in Latin American countries needed a local runner, me to like, do what I do and let them film me doing it.

You would think that would make you feel like a boss ass bitch –

boss assBut really, I felt horribly dorky the entire time.

It was like…

…run – but run slow

…stretch slowly so we can see your muscles

…breathe into this mic

…stand still for three minutes, and stare in the same spot.

I’m really excited to see how this footage turns out, and I will snap a quick pic for you all tomorrow, because the guys are coming over tomorrow to film me making breakfast – through the magic of editing, they’re going to make it look like I’m prepping my breakfast in the minutes before the half, without stressing me out and actually following me around on Sunday morning.

So….what are you guys up to today?

The project is still in progress –

Austin gets interviewed, or Sh*t Men Say

My husband-to-be is hysterical, even though he doesn’t always try to be, and folks, when I tell you he didn’t disappoint in this interview, I am not lying.

First, I stole this from Pleas and Carrots, who saw it on  Maegen spot.  And then I’m gonna up with Amanda and Danae.  Do you follow?  If not, just pretend you are following so we can move along.  

 

1381808_10100205375502823_2005331570_n

Onto the interview!!

Me: What is the name of my blog?

Your blog used to be named Running for Haiti, but now you have switched to Overactive blogger.

Me: What do I typically write about?

Usually about running, lately though lots of writing about wedding related items <-True dat. 

 Me: What’s a popular fashion item for women right now?

Yoga pants!!! <-I’m really trying to understand what fashionable women he’s been witnessing running around in yoga pants lately, because unless I’m working out (which is a lot of the time) I try not to just randomly wear yoga pants.  And they’re not really fashionable….

Me: What’s the best place to shop for women?

Zappos is usually a good bet.  Plain old amazon works too though if you know what you want to buy.  <-He knows I hate to shop, so he’s spot-on for me with this one.  

Me: What’s a Hunter wellie?

Ummm, Im not 100% sure but I think it is a women’s shoe or boot style. <-Nice job to Austie!

Me: What does YOLO stand for?

 YOU ONLY LIVE ONCE. <-Nice touch with the all caps!  A little aggressive, but you know….

Me: What is our favorite thing to do together?

Go out to a nice dinner and have a beer. <- 🙂

Me: What does a perfect evening look like to me?

In an ideal world I would say your ideal evening would include the following

 A good run

Going to get sushi and a beer with me

Getting to watch Girls/Real Housewives/ Courtney Loves Dallas/ Teen Mom/Keeping up with the Kardashians and blogging about it

Me: What do women keep in their purse?

I dont really ever go in them….but it seems to me that they clearly do not generally keep their phone or their keys in there <-He’s making fun of me because I lose my keys all day long.  

Me: What do I do when I’m home alone?

Nap, blog, run, watch your stories and clean

Me: And what do you do when you’re home alone?

Watch netflix documentaries and fall asleep on the couch.  Practice spanish and pet the cats

Me: What’s my favorite accessory?

This one is pretty broad, I would say perhaps your Garmin 610 

Me: What’s an acceptable amount to spend on a makeup item?

$10.00 <-HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. 

Me: What is your favorite trait about me, not physical?

I really like that you are always so kind and loving to our pets and animals in general

Me: What’s my favorite TV show?

The order of these seems to change over time but right now I think this is the lineup

 1) Real Housewives of Atlanta

2) Keeping up with Kardashians

3) Courtney Loves Dallas

 Me: What is my cocktail of choice?

Vodka and club soda

Me: Anything else you’d like to say?

 I love you very much!  I really love all of the work you are doing on your blog.

And there you have it!  The boy is back!

Voyage of the Mee Mee

Because I’m happyyyy….a link-up!

Hi guys!  I hope you’re enjoying your week as much as I am, even though I must admit, being a little overwhelmed with working out, going to work, keeping my apartment clean, taking care of pets, and scheduling things for the wedding, I have been really tempted to play hooky, tell everyone that I’m sick, and take a day (or two) to catch up on life.  But I won’t do that.  I’ll just wake up a little earlier, and stay up a little later, until the day when I sleep allll day long and snuggle with my dogs and never have to wake up for like two days in a row.  But to remind me of how fortunate I am, here’s a little link-up I’m joining with Erin from Two Thirds Hazel and Sarah from Venus Trapped in Mars.  Ready?

FvboMFx

 

Love this idea.  My legs are not that of a Caucasian woman, but if you love this too, grab this photo, and link-up!  Onto the list!  32 Things That Make Me Happy!

1.  Coming home to Coco. She looks at me right in the face like “Whaddup” and I’m like “Hey favorite dog” and she’s just the literal coolest dog ever.

photo 22.  Good runs.  The kind when you want to karate chop everything in sight.

3.  My friends.  I have the best friends in the world.  The ones who I group text, call, send pictures to.  I am so lucky to have you all in my life.

4.  Whole Foods.  Don’t judge me, I really love that place.

5.  That post-workout shower. 

6.  My family.  Even though they drive me nuts sometimes.

7.  My new family that I’m getting when I marry Austin.  They’re really cool.  I like them a lot.

8.  Blogging/writing.  I think it’s something that I’ve always wanted to do, but I’m so glad I jumped off the edge, and finally did it.  It brings me a lot of joy, and it’s a cool feeling when I run into friends and they’re like “Oh snap, love your blog!”

9.  New cosmetics. 

10.  Coffee.  I need to learn how to get Starbucks to deliver to my home.

11.   Body pump.  I’ve been going to Body Pump a few times a week in addition to my running, and I’m totally dead at good it’s been making me feel, and how good my body has been looking.  I’m in love a little bit with this one teacher, Monica, who looks like a fitness model.  When she sweats, she starts to glow, I swear it.  I never thought, as a fitness instructor, I’d be idolizing one of my own.

12.  The kids from Teen Mom 2.  I don’t care, judge away, but this had me rolling.

13.  Yankee Candles. Duh.

14.  The Hoover Steamvac with Clean Surge.  If you have pets, and you have carpets, you have to, have to invest like a hundred some-odd dollars in this amazing machine.  There is nothing as cathartic as dumping that dirty water collect in the tank and dumping it out.

15.  It’s bikini season!  My favorite season in the whole world, plus that means you get to lay out a LOT.

16.  I’m getting married soon!

17.  We ordered my wedding bands from the store last week.   About three weeks til them thangs come in!

photo (9)That’s not one, but two rose gold bands.  Because I’m very particular and visual and just one didn’t look right.

18.  Fiber.  But I been kinda overdoing it with the beans lately.  I need to chill.  And that’s all I’ll say about that.

19.  My inner Martha Stewart.  I lot of folks think if you’re skinny and a vegetarian, you can’t cook.  FALSE, ladies and gents, because since I’m poor now because I spend all my money on bills and wedding stuff, I have been throwing down in the kitchen.  I made homemade scones, homemade black bean burgers, and have made magic with tofu over the past few weeks.

20.  This. 

10174812_10100299724366943_4006296144849895069_n

 

It started out like this….

10014582_10152390048987240_4989775158462462920_nAnd my friend Andrew photoshopped this horridly awkward wedding party, and put all of our faces in there.  I am the bride.  I can’t stop looking at it and crying.

21.  My foam roller.  I think it’s gonna save me tonight.

22. My save-the-dates.  You guys will get the big reveal when I feel like most of the people have received theirs.

23.  Wicked humor.  This includes Andy Cohen, the fellahs over at Class and Trash, and yours truly!

24.  Taken.  Really anything with Liam Neeson in it though.

25.  Race week!!!!

26. The haters.

article-2599937-1CE8E3B200000578-567_634x865This is flawless.

27.  Partition. 

28.  Popular song. 

29.  British accents.  I would do anything for one.  Dang it!

30.  The girls crying about Miley canceling.  I love Miley. These girls crying though are ridiculous, and make me giggle so hard.

31.   When I think about LaToya and Latavia, the original girls who were in Destiny’s Child.  

32.  Teen music, including Demi Lovato, Ariana Grande, and Miley, who tragically canceled all her NC shows this week.  I’m honestly bummed, and I hope she’s okay.

Link up!  What’s making you happy?

Wedding Wednesday

I feel like time has been wearing spoilers, and I don’t know where the time is going, and how we’re on another Wednesday, on another week.  But it’s time, it’s time for another edition of Wedding Wednesday, where you get to hear about all the crap I did in the past week to make this wedding actually happen.  So, a few things, that I’ve gotten done in the time that I’ve seen you.

photo (27)So I started last week by going to the paper store for Save-the-Dates and things, and while I was there, I picked up some things to craft some little cards and treats for the Bridesmaids and Groomsmen, who don’t really know who they are as of yet, because I sent the thingies out yesterday.  The Groomsmen’s card was pretty easy to do, only took some craft paper, some blank cards, some felt-tipped pens, and some little crafty things that were groom-themed to glue onto the cards, plus some twine from the jewelry store.  These are more for my piece of mind because we gave them to one of the groomsmen and I literally saw him shove it into the pocket of his cargo shorts.

photo (26)These little numbers were fun to make, and I did them for my bridesmaids.  I sent them out today, and I totally hope that they say yes!

photo 3 (4)This project literally took forever, but I’m loving the look of what we can do with these.  This one was just a practice, and thank you Nicole from The Girl who Ran Everywhere for helping me, a complete stranger, with this.  She has been an absolute dream, and I don’t know you, but I am so indebted to you girl.  This one took floral wire, buttons, and about 5 hours to get done.  Like I said, just a practice, so I’m loving the way it’s going.  One practice down, about 8 or so more to go.  WHEW!

Fun Wedding Facts

  • Crafting has been amazing, and I love it.  I need to quit my job and blog, craft, and work out full time.
  • I had my first wedding-related sticker shock today, when I headed to FedEx to send some stuff to the bridesmaids.

1457743_10100300335023183_2120935362189434883_n

I’d really rather not get into how much all of this costed me, but suffice it to say that it cost me way too much, and I need to be super super careful about how I send stuff.  Seriously, I almost fainted in that FedEx.

Okay, so that’s it on wedding updates on this wedding Wednesday, but I’ve gotten so much done!

Now I need a favor from you guys.

If anyone has buttons or brooches around their house and they would like to be a little piece of my wedding, please contact me through here and send those buttons/brooches my way!  Can’t wait to hear from you guys!

 

Race week! Rock ‘n’ Roll Raleigh!

It’s race week.  Which I almost forgot with everything going on around here, but I am so so so excited for the Rock ‘n’ Raleigh, but it’s so interesting to be doing races at a time in my life when I’m busier than I could ever have imagined, and all in positive ways.

This time last year, I ran these races with a very specific goal in mind, wanting to get better and better.  Now, I want to run fast, surely, but I also want to run strong, and feel happy and healthy throughout the race, and warp it up with a smile like this one.

P1160278

Without further ado, here are some of the things I strive for this week, and in the race on Sunday morning.

  • Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate.  This time last half marathon, I was vomiting violently from a little stomach bug I’d contracted.  If we can stay healthy, hydrated, and not drink this week, that would be great.  I will certainly allow myself a beer the night before, but other than that, I’m gonna chill on what I drink, and focus on consuming a good bit of water.
  • Rest.  I’m not good at this.  I am going to sleep this week.  I am going to sleep this week, dammit, if it kills me!
  • Foam rolling.  From last week’s 15-miler, the lactic acid has built up into my legs, and during a little maintenance run yesterday, my legs burned the entire time.  I grabbed the foam roller after, and rolled, and need to stay on that in general, and not neglect my poor legs/quads/butt.
  • Compression.  Along the same vein, I need to be sleeping in my compression socks to keep my legs fresh and rested for the race.
  • Time goals? Eh, it’s funny where I am at this point in my life, but until I get married, I don’t feel like I’m gonna be too crazy about time goals.  As long as I feel good and strong throughout the entire race, I feel okay.

Anyone else running the Rock ‘n’ Roll Raleigh? Racing this weekend?  What are your goals leading up to/the day of the race?

Mud runs + a giveaway.

I have a love-love relationships with mud/obstacle runs.

My first race was a 5k, the Warrior Dash in the fall of 2011.  I’d read about them in a runner’s magazine, and decided that me and Austin should sign up for one in Virginia to run one and to see how it went, never having raced before in my life.

It ended up being a total blast, and was the gateway drug to my subsequent half marathons, and full marathons.

317872_10100318427460729_1571215725_n

And go Austin for letting me drag him to all of these things!

Okay, so that brings me to Giveaway Time (for something really cool, keep reading)!

Also, if you don’t win anything, I’m gonna hook you up anyways with a sweet sweet  discount code anyways cause I’m obviously obsessed with you if you read this blog.

So I’ve already signed up for the Reebok Spartan Obstacle Race in DC in July, and for you, I will let you pick your race of choice here, and I will let you decide where you want to race.  I’m giving away a free one!!!!  The cool thing about this race, which you will find out if you click on the landing page is that the race seems like it’s going to be more challenging than some of the obstacles races out there, and even has launched its own all-terrain shoe in the process.

So if you want a free race tell me your literal most embarrassing story about yourself.  I’ll choose the best one, write about it, and then YOU get a free entry to the race of your choosing!

If you’re too shy to share your most hair-raising stories, no prob, I’m gonna be generous and provide you with a discount code. http://bit.ly/spartanwarrior <- that link will generate a 15% off discount code to the race of your choosing.

How can you lose?

[Full Disclosure – I was given a race entry (minus the cost on insurance) to talk about this but all opinions are obviously my own since I have been running