Peachy Keen Fashion Show!

So remember back in February when I did the photoshoot for Headbands of Hope?

© Amanda English Photography-6In case you forgot, here’s the reminder!  Shot by my friend, Amanda English, the shoot was done on the one nice day of weather we had before it started snowing again.  Is anyone sad that winter is finally gone?  ‘Cause I’m not…

So anyhoo, the shoot was styled by Peachy Keen Boutique, a women’s boutique and vintage jewelry boutique in Cary, NC, and I was so honored to be a part of their spring fashion show that was built around the theme of Jimmy Buffet’s Margaritaville.

Here area a few stills from the day.

photo 1 (9) photo 2 (6)Anybody know what this shade of mac lipstick is?  I kinda love it, but I don’t know how I could pull it off in a setting that was not a fashion show.  Check out Winter’s photobomb!!!

DSC_0372 DSC_0373 DSC_0374 DSC_0376The founder of Headbands of Hope!

DSC_0380

I love love loved this swingy top!

DSC_0402

This one made me feel bridely 🙂

DSC_0414

 

And last but not least, I had to complete the evening with this cute face that I make when I’m really happy/I’ve been drinking.

As a total side note, I’m getting a teeny tiny bit of modeling work here, and if anyone needs me for anything else, I’ll take it!  Your girl needs all she can get before the big day!

 

 

Wedding Wednesday: Finanaces

So in like, 3 months and 24 days (which I didn’t know til I blogged about how much time it was gonna be until our Wedding Date), I get to marry this hunk.

photo

Now, I’ve talked openly and candidly about my finances here, but it was important to do that with my husband-to-be, and that meant being really open about my student loan debit and my spending patterns.

And I was really really embarrassed to sit down and talk with him about it.

Austin has a really, really good handle on his finances, and makes a ton more money than I do, and I can learn so much from him (and I have in our years together).  I make a social worker’s salary, and have a decent amount of debt from graduate school mostly, that I’m working on.  But we’ve gotten together every day for the last few days and created a budget, and gone over every single piece of paperwork involving my student loans, and for once, I don’t feel like I’m in a horrifying panic over the state of my loans.

Like I said last week, paying down more of my loans, and still having a little something left over to save, means some actual focus and work, but thankfully, I have a partner who knows what the heck it takes, and is helping me focus on the big picture.  And instead of being mortified and embarrassed, once we got down to the real work, I felt comforted that I was able to share my “burden” with someone else.

In other wedding news?

  • Save-the-dates are OUT!  I will do a big reveal next week, so I can make sure folks get theirs before I put all their business out there.
  • Wedding bands are purchased!  Just waiting for them to come out,
  • Invites?  The ball is rolling, but I have no clue what the wording on the invites is gonna say.
  • My mom screamed at me for not inviting one of her friends.  I am not a cold, heartless person, but she literally told me that she didn’t want to invite this person because they hadn’t been picking up her phone calls as of late.  Well she texted me last night to ask if I invited this person, and then yelled at me when I said no.  I WAS JUST FOLLOWING ORDERS!  Ugh.
  • Catering is thisclose to being finalized.
  • We’d already booked the photogs a while back, but in the course of some emails we’d been sending back and forth, I kinda let them know I needed them for our (very late) engagement photos and bridal portraits for you guys to put gifts under when I get married.

To do in this week?

  • The biggie is the wedding website HAS to get some progress on it.  Maybe I’ll work on that this weekend.

I am SO happy that things are getting done.

How do you keep up with your monthly budget/big ticket expenses?

Break Day!

Hump dayyyyyy!

Okay, so can I tell you how insanely awesome my alma mater is?  Last week, on Hump Day, they brought camels out for the students to pet and take pics with.

HumpWho the hell thinks of this?  Annnnd it’s awesome.  Seriously, soak it up college students, cause I guarantee you your boss isn’t bringing camels to the break room to entertain you in real life.  Guarantee.

Okay, so today is normally Wedding Wednesday, but I need a break.  I’ve been nursing a headache and some nausea for the past few days, so I’m gonna take the day off, and Wedding Wednesday will be tomorrow 🙂

I love you, see you tomorrow!

What’s your number?

When I read this yesterday, and I read the title I was like WHAT’S MY NUMBER?!  Nuh-uh honey that is no one’s business!  And as far as anyone is concerned, I am the Virgin Cheri, so it’s really a non-issue, but I was like “huh?!” Anyhoo, I got to reading a little further, and I love this post from my fellow bride-to-be, Samantha at It’s All in the Details, that I had to steal it for myself. You ready??

Numbers!

1 – the number of times I’ve been in love

10171077_10100299026849773_1888318097_n
Like 2.5  – the number of times I’ve thought I was in love

23 – our wedding day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 – the number of siblings I have…my parents were busy bees. But I like big families, and I’m kinda like ehhh iffy about kids, but I’m either 0 or 5 kids. There really is no in-between for me.

2 – doggies! I have Coco, and I fostered the sweetest Beagle ever.  We were calling him Nelson, but I started just calling him Beagle toward the end of his stay.  I loved him, but he was so energetic, and he ate the strap off of my Rainbows, and then threw it up on the carpet later.

unnamed

4 – my lucky number and the number of kids there are in my family.  Generally I like any number that’s has a perfect nice square root though.

1 – the number of countries I’ve lived in. My parents have both lived in two, however, and we would consider moving to a Spanish-speaking country.
IDK – The number of photos I have on my phone.  I just broke my phone, but I think it’s over 1,000 in the cloud.

Between 2k and 2500 – The number of calories I eat a day.  I teach a ton, and I think I could eat more, but for now I roughly stick to these many.

19, 600 – my tweet count (black people love Twitter, I don’t know what to say.)

33 – Unread emails.  Woops.  #sorrynotsorry

My clients steal them all – the number of pens on my desk.

Too many – the number of cities I’ve lived in.  I think my favorite is the Poconos in the summer time.

A million – the number of times I’ve moved.  My parents were move-a-holics.

2 – the number of degrees I have

116 – the number of days until we’re hubby and lady-friend! EEEP! That’s like 3 monthsish?

0 – the number of the game I cannot stop playing – not a gamer!

Tell me – what is still left on your to-do list to do?  

-Finishing up the budget that me and Austin did last night.

-Pay some bills.

-Shampoo the carpet because Coco had a dingleberry and rubbed it all over the damned carpet last night.

Race Etiquette

I ran the Nike Women’s Half Marathon on Sunday morning, which you totally know if you follow me on Twitter, IG, or Facebook. And yes, that is a shameless plug, but ya girl’s gotta eat!

I promise, I promise, I promise, you are going to get a full recap of that race, but I literally took 10 million pictures that I need to get together, and I might actually have to split it up into two posts.  And I literally just thought of that, and I think that’s a good idea.  I might do that!  Less overwhelming that way, right?

Okay, moving right along.  So I had a wonderful time at the race this weekend with the exception of one really really nagging issue.

So, race day, we were organized into corrals according to our estimated finish time, which we estimated way way back in December, when we were registering for the race lottery.   This is where I made my first mistake – I think I was still reeling from the death of my grandmother, and from having puked all over the Greensboro Marathon, because I must have put something much slower than my normal pace in.  When I got my bracelet which organized me into my pace group, I was pretty surprised to see that I was in like the 10:00-10:30 group.  “Alright, no big,” I said to myself.

20140427-042410.jpg

I should have known better, because I ran into this issue last year, when I started at that back of my pace group, and spent like the first three miles of the race duck, diving and dodging folks to try and rally for a good nice spot that I could cruise in for the rest of the race.  So that part was my fault, and I should have not been so hard on myself about my pace (I averaged a 9:05 for the race, which is still a little slow for me, but nowhere near that 10:30 I was tripping on).

The rest was just folks with bad manners.

Race etiquette. 

These are a few actual things I observed during the race that created a sometimes annoying, sometimes dangerous situation for me and other runners.

  • Know your pace, and stick to that pace group.  Hey, I was guilty here of starting in a pace group that was a little slow for me.  And I had to work my way up.  But when you start in the 7:30 corral, and you’re walking within the first 3/4ths of a mile, you’re creating a really dangerous situation for the runners around you that have to dodge, have to slam on their “brakes” when you decide to stop, or who have to slow down and idle behind you until they find an out.  Now, I understand that sometimes you start there, and you realize it’s just not gonna happen that day.  And that’s fine.  But that brings me to my next point.
  • If you decide that you’re not gonna stick to your pace, get over, kind of like you’re driving a car, and kind of hang out there while you stretch, catch your breath, tie your shoe, or walk it out.  Again, don’t slam on those brakes because it creates confusion and congestion for the runners behind you.
  • If someone sticks their hand out for a high five, don’t be an a-hole.  High five them back!  Chances are, because you’re with me in the 9:05 minute club, you’re not breaking any records, and you can spare a high five.  Plus, it literally makes the minutes and hours go by a little faster.
  • If you’re stopping to take a photo, get over.  I mean, seriously?  Don’t stop, whip out your friggin iPhone, and have me trippin over you because it’s time to take a selfie.  And I get it, I love a good selfie this time of year, but let’s keep it appropriate.
  • Anticipate water stops.  I saw so many people do these awkward crab walks across like 10 lanes of runner traffic for a cup of Nuun.  Fun fact:  most of the water stops were on both sides of the street (nice perk!) and didn’t require that crab walk.

So these were some of the things that I caught…what are your race pet peeves?

Rude Cows

So.

I don’t know where to begin with this.

boston-marathon-bib-stealers-sb-doodle__oPt
photo via FitPerez

So, the Boston Marathon was this past Monday, a week ago today.

And it’s a BFD to run it.

Figure out what BFD means, by the way, because I don’t want to swear all over my blog. I mean I do, but my mom reads this and always sends me really rude texts when I say shit and stuff, so figure it out. It stands for big-hmmhmm-deal.

So, it’s a BFD to run Boston. You have to train really hard for a marathon. You have to run a marathon in a qualifying time. Like a marathon isn’t hard enough, right? You have to run it fast, and then qualify. Then you like, qualify, and you qualify, and then you have to apply. Then after you apply, and you’re in, you have to go buy your ticket for your flight, get an expensive hotel, and even the most frugal of people is gonna blow a nice little chunk on their visit.

What I’m trying to say ^^ is that it’s not an easy feat to pull off to get there.  In fact, it’s difficult, and it’s a really really huge accomplishment.

So why in God’s name is a North Carolina reporting that after she posted a photo of her bib to Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook, that some schmucks stole the bib by photocopying it, pinned it on like they were real runners, and ran the race?  I’m completely lost.

Long story short.

Do what you want.  But events like Boston are not the ones you need to be fooling with.  For starters, it’s a huge security risk for a bunch of strange idiots to be running the races.  Secondly, it’s a safety issue.  If one of the bandits, God forbid, gets hurt or even worse, how is anyone to know who they are when they have fake bibs connected to the original North Carolina woman?  And third?  YOU DON’T BELONG THERE.  It’s not your race to be running around in.

I’m done.  That was so rude.

What do you think?

Blogging from the Westin Lobby!

Not even kidding.

I’m staying at the nicest hotel ever ever ever, and WiFi isn’t free in the room, so I grabbed a glass of overpriced white wine, and I popped a squat in the lobby to read some blogs, do some commenting, and observe all the drunky monkies as they come in from their nights out.  I’m not judging them.  That hard.  ::evil laughter::

Okay, so I’m staying in the hotel, by my lonesome, taking a much needed “break”.

And by break, I really mean that I’m blogging a bunch, catching up on some wedding stuff, and running a half marathon.  But I get to do it all while sleeping in a very very comfortable bed and watching Bravo without any cats parking on my face like one of them did last night.  Anyone want a free cat, I’m bout sick of that little orange one I adopted last year….(JK freaks!)

photo (28)

So first thing I did, after I wrangled my bags into my room, was to do a super fast run down to Niketown to check out the name wall that they do.  Last year, my friggin name was on this split, so I was Cherisse no-last-name-til-the-next-line, and this year, by the grace of God, I’m Cheri full-last-name!  Eep!  The run felt good, was really short, and was flat.  I plan to do the same tomorrow morning, wake up really really early and get down there to get my packet, then return here to do a little more work.  I love it here.  🙂

What are you doing on this gorgeous Saturday?  

Wedding Wednesday! Ceptin’ it’s Friday, but whatevs!

Y’all know about my love affair with my husband-to-be right?  Cause he handsome and really amazing, and is really good at math things, which I am not 🙂 well, we did something really really cool that was wedding related and I honestly couldn’t wait until next Wednesday to tell you about it so you’re gonna have to deal.  #sorrynotsorry. So today, we hopped on over to Diamonds Direct Crabtree, who is hosting their spring Designer Showcase ALL OF THIS WEEKEND!  Go, cause that  means a ton of stuff is on sale, wedding bands, engagement jewelry, and a TON of other stuff.  Like, I already picked out my stuff for our first, fifth, and tenth anniversaries.  20 is gonna be a doozy, just sayin’.

To be 100% transparent with you guys, I loved the customer service that I received at Diamonds Direct  so much that we partnered up, and I am covering some of their events in the lead-up to my wedding in exchange for a discount on some wedding items.  But all opinions are strictly my own.

Hohkay, moving right along…

DSC_0415 DSC_0416 These cars out front kinda made me want to rent something fancy for our wedding.  NO!  Budget, Cheri! DSC_0418   Here’s some info on the showcase.  There’s free food tonight….just sayin’… DSC_0420 DSC_0421

Baby boy talks to a rep from a jewelry company that is being represented at the showcase….

DSC_0423

I’ve had the pleasure of meeting/working with the handsome fellow on the left, Barak, a few times, and he literally makes you feel like a celebrity in his store.

DSC_0429

Andddd here is the fun part!  I don’t care that I already have a beautiful beautiful engagement ring, sparkly rings are sparkly rings!

DSC_0430 DSC_0431The selection at the showcase was SO huge…we actually went to shop for Austin’s band a few weeks back, and decided to come back for the showcase, and they really delivered.  This isn’t the entire selection of Tungston Carbide rings either.

DSC_0433

An expert chatting it up with my man friend making his final decision!

So the full info on the Diamonds Direct Spring Designer Showcase?

Friday, April 25th – 10am-8pm <-Free Food that day, so come hungry and sober.

Saturday, April 26th, 10am-8pm

Sunday, April 27th 12pm-6pm

Click here for more info, but head over there for 20% off of a TON of jewelry.