Here’s What! Puppy edition!

So today’s “Here’s What” is a little bit different because this Friday is a very very special Friday.

First and foremost, Happy Friday, and a big huge congrats to all the participants in this year’s Boston Marathon.  I know a few folks here in Raleigh that raced and finished, and I’m so proud of their huge accomplishment.  Here are two of my friends who did it!  Congrats to them!

DSC_0343

 

Hokay.

So earlier this week, I posted a little teaser to Instagram…

photo (6)

 

So are you curious yet?  Do you want to know what it’s about?

So, let’s back it up to March 1st of 2014, when a friend of a friend adopted a dog from a shelter.  The dog was underweight, a Belgian Malinois, which is sort of akin to a German Shepard.  So the dog’s Mama, Andrea, was sitting with her on the couch on Saturday night when the dog had an “accident”.

Before long, Andrea realized that the “accident” on the couch was no accident, and that Georgia, the dog, was delivering 7 puppies!

Unfortunately, one of the puppies was lost, but Andrea successfully delivered 6 healthy little puppies, 3 boys and 3 girls and is letting them stay until they’re weaned off their mama.  Wanna see?

DSC_0316One of the pups nursing.

DSC_0319

DSC_0334Puppies really like to nap…check out this guy taking a little nap on his back 🙂

DSC_0339

Those little tongues!

So here is the deal with these precious little bundles.

They were be available to be adopted in about 6 weeks.

Andrea WILL NOT adopt them out to just anyone.  If you are interested in adopting them, please shoot me an email – Cheri.Armour@gmail.com.  I will forward your information over to Andrea, and she is prepped to vet you, because even though she would love to keep these pups herself, she physically cannot do it.

This is what I’m obsessed with today.

What are you obsessed with this Friday?

 

 

I’m far from a grammar nazi.

I mean, but there are a couple of things that I cannot FRIGGING STAND, from a grammatical standpoint, that have been making my skin crawl.  Let me take you through a few, using the great Stanley Hudson of the Office to express my boredom, displeasure, and disbelief

  • It’s/Its.  

  • Balling/Bawling.  One refers to playing basketball.  The other refers to sobbing uncontrollably. Figure it out.

  • To/Too.  I can’t.

23 Signs You're The Stanley Of Your Office

  • Your/You’re.  You’re a higher-up.  Why don’t you know the difference?  WHY?!

23 Signs You're The Stanley Of Your Office

  • Affect/Effect.  God BLESS!  We work in mental health and with pharmaceuticals.  It’s IMPERATIVE we know the difference!

23 Signs You're The Stanley Of Your Office

  • Loose/Lose.  We teach classes at the gym, where people gain confidence and LOSE weight.  Duh.

  • And finally, for my running bloggers.  It’s friggin CHAFING not CHAFFING.  CHAFING.  THAT is what happens to your skin when you don’t use Aquaphor, not CHAFFING.  God.

Sometimes ya just gotta make out in public.

photo 1-1 photo 2Sike, when is this EVER okay?  Like, EVER.

Austin, his sister, and I went to the best sushi place in all of Raleigh for dinner to celebrate his sister’s almost-last class in her rotation at Pharmacy school.  She’s really cool, and noted this really odd couple at the bar – an older gentleman and a younger girl, maybe my age.  They flat-out refused to be normal and made out for like 70% of the night, making everyone on the bar side of Sushi Blues uncomfortable.  Cool….

Anyhoo, despite shattering my thumb into 10,000 pieces, I’ve been a able to at least keep up with my runs for the Nike Women’s Half this weekend, and got a run in some friggin beautiful weather in prep for the big race.

Race Prep

I’m so excited for the Nike Women’s Half for a few reasons.  One, having a race to run motivates me to keep up with my running and my fitness.  I work out a ton in real life, but having something to work toward, imagining cruising and ticking off miles on Sunday morning is what has kept me going over the last few weeks.  It’s cool because I get to do it with a million (okay, closer to 15,000) other women, I get to meet other bloggers in a meet-up on Saturday morning before the race :), and I get to spend time in the city that I really am in love with.

So now that I’ve blathered on and on about what my plans are for my weekend in DC, what are you looking forward to this weekend?

 

Budgeting.

Austin and I had to have a really difficult pre-wedding conversation yesterday, about budgeting.

I think it’s really cute and funny to be poor and subsist soley on Ramen and Diet Mountain Dew for college, but I’m out a few years, trying to build a life for me and my husband-to-be, and we would be complete idiots if we didn’t have the very difficult conversation about money.

I think naturally, money is just a really difficult and uncomfortable topic to talk about.  Then, throw in the fact that I don’t make very much of it, and Austin makes more than enough, and it makes for some learning curve and growing pains.

Because I make so little, I’ve gotten comfortable being a little sloppy with my spending.  As long as I can make my sort of “required” bills, I don’t worry about a ton else.  But that can’t work forever.  Things happen.  Transmissions go out.  Sometimes you jam your thumb (side eye).  Sometimes something just unexpected comes up.  And it makes me extremely uncomfortable to not have some sort of cushion or nest egg built up at the point that I thought I would.

So, a few steps I’m taking to take some more charge of my finances?

photo (4)

 

  • I’m using Mint to keep track of/analyze my finances.  I almost dread when I open Mint up, but it’s necessary, I think, to keep track of what’s going on.  From Mint, I’ve gathered a few things.
  • I really need to chill out on the coffee.  Like it’s really not even funny, I have to chill out.  As of this month, I’ve spent $40 on Starbucks, and a few more dollars at McDonald’s and Bruegger’s on coffee-related items.  I need to come up with a plan to still get my caffeine, but to forgo a few trips to Starbucks.  Realistically, I’d like to limit my outside coffee budget to about $25/month, which can feasibly be done if I skip the fancier drinks and just go with americanos and flavor them to my linking.
  • I’m awesome with brown-bagging the lunch, but I need to chill on errant trips to the Teeter when I feel inspired to cook something weird.  My food spending is a little higher than it need to be. 
  • Switch to cash for food.  No more swipey swipey for me. 
  • By the end of this week, I need to call the awesome folks down at the student loan place, and figure out how much I’m going to be paying once we get married and combine the incomes.  It’s gonna hurt, but the bigger the monthly payment, the faster I can be free of that debt. 
  • Long term?  I gotsta make more money!  I’m keeping the eyes peeled for job opportunities that will afford me (hee hee) more wiggle room.

I have to admit, I feel like I have no clue what I’m doing, and I feel like a total idiot for not knowing some of this budgeting stuff already, but what are some of your best responsible spending and money saving tips?

Wedding Wednesday!

This week has been really really difficult in Weddingland.

It started with the fact that I feel like I’m behind in literally everything.  

Then my poor boss, Matthew, was sick for the first two days this week, meaning that I was left to run the office.  This would be the point at which two of my clients decide to elope from thee program, not before one literally told me to f–k off.

And all the while, I feel like nothing has gotten done.

I had a dream last night that I flipped my save-the-dates over and that they said “Happy Birthday Cheri and Austin”

Holy shit.

10177970_10100307140824303_3532745304334589648_nIn beautiful news, the save-the-dates are gorgeous, and I will do an official reveal of them once I get them all stamped and sent out.

My best boy, Michael accepted to be a groomsman.

And I look like a dream with my hair pulled up.  I think I was born in the wrong decade and I want to start dressing more like Dita Von Teese.

photo (3)

 

Phew. I am working so hard to make sure next Wedding Wednesday, I have more to tell you 🙂

Brides, you ever have a week like this one?

Home happenings….

More mangos.  

Number one, I’m still extremely troubled by the fact that there’s not one consensus on the plural word for mango.  It can either be mangoes or mangos.  So, I’ve been switching it up, but it makes me really uncomfortable nonetheless.  But if you’ll remember from about a week and a half ago, I went crazy on the mango sale at Whole Foods.  Well, when I went back the other day, and they were on sale, this time two for a dollar, so ya girl went cray on them.

photo 1 (8)I went to town dehydrating mango, which can be really expensive if you buy it in the bags, and really really fully of sugar, so it’s nice to slice up your own, and know that you’re not getting any of the gross stuff that can come in the bag.

Let’s make a right turn.

Reality TV.  

Porsha
Gif Via: LittlePieceOfDribblePiss /SurvivorSucks

Did anyone catch the RHOA reunion? Yikes, yikes, yikes. Porsha absolutely lost her mind for a second.  Now I absolutely do not condone violence, and because of that, Porsha needs to leave the reunion, and whatever it is that Bravo Andy chooses to do with her is his decision, but my LORD Kenya was getting on my nerves with the scepter and that damned bullhorn.  She is so so obnoxious, and she really needs to go.  But Porsha, you know you were dead wrong for hitting her.

This app.

I know you’re probably sick and tired of hearing all about my iPhone woes, but while I was in the process of re-downloading and configuring where I like my apps to go on my little phone’s desktop, I stumbled on Sara from Loving on the Runs’  sort of mini-review of TimeHop.

photo 3Here’s what it looks like, and it’s terribly cute.

The app links up with your Twitter, your FB, and your Instagram, and pulls statuses and photos from YEARS ago, so it’s a total trip down memory lane.  Here’s what I got yesterday!
photo 2This one was following a day when I won like $1000 in a local singing competition.  It was really awesome.  I also spent most of it repairing that Taurus that I had, but whatevs, that’s the life of being an adult, right?

I skipped Body Pump this morning 😦

I’m really bummed, but my thumb kinda still hurts from when I jammed it on Sunday night.  I packed my running clothes, and as soon as my clients leave from the job today, I’m going to set out for a few minutes and get the blood pumping!

How’s your Tuesday shaping up!?

The Apple Store.

I visited the Apple store twice in the last four days.  That’s a lot of Apple.  And a lot of products.

So first, I’ve been rocking the same iPod since about 2011-2012, but in reality, the iPod has been floating around for about 5 years, and was gifted to me after some hoodlum stole it from the gym at the Banana on Glenwood (my old apartment building).  The fair Ashely Little, one of my bridesmaids, shipped me the iPod, and saved me a million dollars for my classes.

So last week, I went in to replace the iPod ($150), and while I was there, I swapped out my phone because the camera was doing this weird thing….

10154254_10100302828930373_6607342305233116822_nWhere it would leave this ghostly black line through the top of the photos.  It was driving me crazy, and I felt like, even though I do a lot of my photographing on my new real camera, I hated putting pics like this one up on the blog because it’s ratchet. So I swapped it out.  Free, because I still had 65 days left on my warranty.

So after yesterday’s debacle, when I locked my keys in my car, fell asleep on the front porch, and scraped up the entire right side of my body, I realized, upon falling down and spraining my thumb, that I’d cracked the screen of my new iPhone, the one that I’d gotten 3 days earlier.

When glass started affixing itself to the side of my head, I knew I had to go in.  And there, 4 days after I swapped out my iPhone, I spent $200 despite begging and pleading for them to have mercy on me to replace my broken phone.

Expensive lesson learned.

Once again, I nailed it.

On the plus, the people at the Apple store are really nice, and I feel for them because of the sheer volume of idiocy I saw.  Some guy jumped in line in front of me to check in, then left the grounds when they were calling his name.  This older lady from Michigan plopped down in a chair and then stated that she had not been helped.  But you plopped down and thought someone was gonna magically know to help you in a crowded store?  Then this couple was literally shouting at this one associate….I just cannot.

Tell me your best broken phone story!

Easter Sunday OOTD + my little spill…

Easter Sunday was beautiful in North Carolina, and one of the first Sundays I was able to go out and run for a little while outside because it finally wasn’t gross and rainy all day!  We’re not big church folks, so instead of going to church, I straightened up, and by straightened up, I mean I pretended to straighten up for about 10 minutes before I got sick of it and started blogging and catching up on the DVR I missed out on.  But, the day wasn’t complete without me putting on this ModCloth dress for Easter Dinner…DSC_0310

photo 1

I actually bought it for the Jingle Ball back in October, for only like $160.  And I say only because it was actually normally priced for such a nice dress, but I had it rushed because I’m an idiot and I waited until three days before the even to get the dress, and then I had to have it rushed.  I actually had to go to a sketchy part of town to pick in up from a UPS spot because it arrived literally  the day before the event.  I ordered a size 6 and prayed.  Thankfully it ended up fitting, but this time when I slipped it on, it was actually a little loose around the midsection.  I don’t think I’ve lost any weight, save for maybe a couple of racing pounds, but the weight lifting is really rearranging things.  My tummy and my waist are totally loving it!

DSC_0308PS, I’m totally loving our real camera!  One of these photos was taken on an iPhone, and the detail on the DSLR doesn’t even compare!

The Spill

So last night, after Easter Dinner, I headed home, and immediately proceeded to lock my keys in my car.  I had everything in my arms, my camera, a half-gallon of coffee I’d manage to snitch from the dinner, and cups to go with it, and has I was wobbling toward the stairs to go into my house, I fell down, cracked my phone (two days after getting it, mind you), sprained my thumb, and had to collect all of my coffee cups that were now rolling around on the sidewalk.  I could hear Coco freaking out inside.

So I did what any rational female would do at 11:00 pm, and I wedged the screen off of my front window which I’d locked.

Dangit.

I Googled AAA, called them, and then proceeded to fall asleep on my front porch.  Yes, fall asleep on my front porch.  

37 People Who Failed So Spectacularly They Almost Won

Luckily, I woke up in time to meet the AAA guy, who told me something along the lines of “You look spectacular” or something (I know, honey), and got into my apartment, and into my PJs with my sprained thumb with just enough time to stalk a few folks on social media.

Oh, and Austin says he’s not paying for my new phone, that I have to buy it myself.

I nailed Easter Sunday. Nailed it.

How was your Easter Sunday!  

 

The Rock ‘n’ Roll Raleigh Controversy

So, last year, when Competitor Group announced that Raleigh would be getting a Rock ‘n’ Roll Half, and Full Marathon, the reaction was surprisingly mixed.

I, an avid runner and an employee at the local Fleet Feet was elated because the majority of my fulls and half marathons required me to travel out of town in order to find a race with an expo, support along the course, well-marked pace groups and all the trappings that some of the races in the larger cities had.  I’d run the Run Raleigh Half, relayed the City of Oaks, paced the Umstead 100-Miler, and shuffled through the Greensboro Marathon, and all though all of those races had been pleasant, there were a few things that stuck out about those experiences that I didn’t love.

  1. There was not really a full expo for any of the local races.  The expos consisted of a gracious local running store, oftentimes us or Capital RunWalk opening their doors, you picking up your packet, and promptly leaving.  There was no fanfare, no booths for you to explore and discover new products, or places for you to snag some cool samples before the race.
  2. There was definitely medical support along the course, but not as dense as it was at some of the bigger races I have been to.  The Greensboro Marathon, for example, was awesome, but when I got sick, my option was to lay down and die, or finish the race.   At least at a bigger race, there might have been an option for me to rest a little bit, and then continue on.
  3. Further into fulls out here, it seems like everyone disappears.  You’re in, 17 miles into a race, and you’re alone.  That can’t be safe, right?  And it’s certainly no good for your mental status at that point in the race, to be running alone.

And then, the local newspaper, the News & Observer, and a local running retail store, that I will not name, has seemed to make it their personal mission to trash-talk this race, topped with this article, describing some level of shock that none of the races fees went to charity.  (And to keep it 100, the racers raised 250k for the V foundation, that’s not too shabby right?)

So, far all you RnR haters, a few points on the race that will have me running again and again.

  • The race was incredibly well-organized.  There was no confusion about where to go, where to park, or where we were running.  Everything, and I mean everything was clearly marked, right down to the split around mile 9 between the half the the full, and I have never been to a race where it was so clearly marked.
  • Following the race, we were given cold towels, pizza, bananas, fresh bottles of water, and a free beer, as well as a big fat chunk of a medal.  There’s a good chance some of our fees went to these perks.  And I didn’t hear anyone complaining about our beers, our medals, or our food there at the end.
  • Runners raised a TON for the V-Foundation, a local charity for cancer research.  
  • These smiles.

DSC_0293

 

  • The fact that there were a ton of people in Raleigh making a good decision for their health and well-being. 
  • Just because I ran this big monster of a race, doesn’t mean I won’t run local, which is what a lot of the arguments against this race have implied.  The races do not have to be mutually exclusive.
  • “The city cut them a huge check that they didn’t normally cut to the other local races!”  Well in addition to the 12,500 runners, there were their families.  The hotels were sold out.  ESPN Run was in town.  People ate our food.  People drank our beer.  Folks shopped at our runnings stores.  People shopped at the expo.  People filled the bars and the brunch spots after.  And Raleigh was put on the map.  Do you think, for a second, that it’s a coincidence that Raleigh is starting to make all these lists, and we just brought HUGE amounts of national attention to the city?

A few examples of our spot on some of Forbes’ lists?

Screen Shot 2014-04-20 at 2.50.23 PM Screen Shot 2014-04-20 at 2.50.48 PM Screen Shot 2014-04-20 at 2.51.13 PM Screen Shot 2014-04-20 at 2.51.34 PM

 

Can we just stop complaining and embrace the fact that as a growing city, that things like this, cool, awesome things like this, are gonna happen?  You CAN run big AND run local.  And that’s exactly what I plan to do.