I’m late for our Sunday Social

But you really have to forgive me because I was running and doing a lot of stuff this weekend.  Forgive me?  Okay so in case you forgot, I’m linking up with Neely and Ashely for their Sunday Social.  Which is coming to you on Tuesday.  Whatever, whatever, I do what I want!

Sunday SocialMmkay, so here we go!

1. What was your best birthday?  My best birthday would have to be my 20th, because I tagged along with my dad to go to New York City.  He took me and my cousin, who’s gonna be one of my bridesmaids, to a show, to sushi, and to a comedy show.  It was SO fun, and when we got home to New Jersey, my Auntie Denise made me a homemade red velvet cake with cream cheese icing.

2. What was your best vacation?  What’s a vacation?  Let me know when you find out 🙂 No, just kidding – I think one of the trips that I took to DC recently has been a fave.  I stayed in the Westin in Georgetown, and that place really made my trip.

P1160276

3. Best date you’ve ever been on?  Date number one with this guy 🙂

308199_738548441023_853436731_n-1We went to the Rockford on Glenwood, and I was one smitten kitten about him.  We’re getting married in a few months, so something he said must have worked, right? 🙂

4. Best Movie(quality) you’ve seen?  Wolf of Wall Street was really awesome, but not for the faint of heart.  That movie was a little insane, but Leonardo?

35c6b4251b94f0d7_leo_dance_1_.xxxlarge

Yes thank you!

5. Best TV show ending of all time? Sex and the City everything, and Breaking Bad.  Both left me totally wanting more.

Okay, so for you, what was your best birthday ever? 

 

 

Yoga pants?

Don’t take this the wrong way, I love workout stuff – it’s nearly as essential to my workouts as my will to workout is.  That might sound ridiculous, but if you’ve ever worked out in the wrong shirt or a bra that’s chafed you, you know exactly what is is I’m saying.

So even though between my job and teaching classes, I spend a lot of time in any variety of workout gear – yoga pants, sports bras, and technical tops, I was really puzzled when Austin, the boy behind the blog, gave this thought-provoking answer to one of the questions I asked him during an interview last week.
The question was:  What’s a popular fashion item for women right now? 

DSC_0014
My uniform for classes.

His answer?

Yoga pants!!!

 

Okayyyyyy. So I was really trying to figure out where this answer came from. Again, it’s not that I find yoga pants offensive, but really, when you think of popular women’s fashion items, you might think of things like, the color mint green, sparkly ear cuffs, or cropped tops with jorts, especially for Coachella. But yoga pants?

So I asked him to clarify, and this is what he had to say.  Imagine this in a southern accent.

Well that’s all I see those girls wearing when I go to shop at the Cameron Village Teeter [Harris Teeter].

Annnnnd that would explain it. Every single girl who shops at the Cameron Village Harris Teeter, which is where you go if you want to make sure someone hits your car when they drive 30 mph in a parking lot to return their Redbox DVDs, is a student at either Meredith or NC State. Their uniform is either Norts (Nike Shorts) an oversized sorority tee, with an option of swapping the Norts for sweatpants with a pair of boat shoes, Nike Frees with high socks, or Rainbows.

The moral of the story? Austin is taking his fashion cues from the Harris Teeter.  Cool.

Zyrtec.

Remember when I told you that Zyrtec was one of my weekly obsessions? I wasn’t lying, on Friday, after spending a miserable Thursday at work. I was not kidding at all.

Toward the end of the day, when my throat was feeling extra horrible, I wanted to kick a hole in the wall, but I resisted the urge. Barely.

So, on Friday morning, when I woke up feeling like less of a monster, and more like Cheri, I did the natural thing. I tweeted @Zyrtec to tell them that their product was really fly, and was surprised to see how responsive they were!

Screen Shot 2014-04-12 at 12.26.35 AMI followed them…

Screen Shot 2014-04-12 at 12.20.34 AMAnd I called them.

They were really great. They wanted to collect some info from me about my age, my usage of Zyrtec, and then they popped a few coupons in the mail for me.

If you didn’t know it already, it’s true.  I am still obsessed with Zyrtec, and they rock. And they didn’t pay me to say this, even though I would be totally down with it if they did decided to throw me some bennies and free product to talk about their miracle drug.

 

Rock ‘n’ Roll Raleigh Recap

Before I dive right into the recap, please take a moment to think about the two men that lost their lives at RnR Raleigh.  That is really scary, and my heart goes out to their families.

Let’s recap the race.

So I told you a little bit about the expo on Friday, and that continued throughout Saturday.  This time, I worked the Brooks tent, which was absolute madness between the shoe fittings and the folks scrambling for novelty items and last minute items they’d forgotten for the race.

DSC_0230Check out our fitting rooms.  I kept expecting them to smell like an actual port-a-john, but they were clean, promise.

Saturday night, I cleaned, and straightened up, and tried to go to bed early, but it was a bust, so I watched 21 Jump Street until I could cobble together 3 or 4 hours of sleep.  I woke up bright and early on Sunday morning (around 4am), showered, and headed downtown early before the streets were closed to traffic.  I beat it all, parked in my expo spot, and hit the VIP suite to do an early pre-race breakfast.

photoMe and a friend, Mimi, of WRAL hanging out.  We noshed on a half a bagel, some fruit, and I took a swing of a Coke for a little bit of sugar.

The race started about 10 minutes late to allow time for folks that were stuck in traffic.  The waves went off and I was a bundle of nerves, but I remained pretty focused and started and finished pretty strong.

DSC_0257

This was the first of many, many hills of that race.  Credit to Austin for the photography with our fancy new camera!

DSC_0258 DSC_0274

Finish line!

DSC_0276 DSC_0277

Coming down the chute!

DSC_0278

Gotta blow a kiss!  After this, I utilized the full length of all of my legs and cranked it out for the final lap.

DSC_0286

There was a huge fence separating us from the spectators, I’m guessing due to security reasons.

DSC_0288

Here, I was trying to block Austin from making that shot.

DSC_0292

 

We found fun Mateo (Matthew) after the race!

 

DSC_0293

And the best photo of the entire afternoon?

DSC_0295 DSC_0302

 

So my review of Rock ‘n’ Roll Raleigh?  

The expo:

DSC_0222Incredibly well-done, and well organized.  Besides parking, which was kind of annoying if you weren’t familiar with the city, you could get in and out relatively quickly if one of the booths didn’t suck you in.  Some examples of vendors included Brooks (where I worked one day), Gu (where I worked another), Garmin, Tom Tom, City of Oaks, and Hoka, just to name a very few.  I even caught sight of some of the brands I rock on the regular!

Race Day Logistics: 

Awesome, if you followed instructions and did what you needed to to avoid traffic jams.  I left early, had a plan for parking, and was where I needed to be by 5:30 am.  For other folks, parking proved to be a little more difficult, especially if they did not get to where they needed to be before 6am, when they blocked the streets off.  Once the race started, the waves were really done excellently, and miles were marked extremely well, and from what I could tell, extremely accurately.  There seemed to be a ton of medical personnel on the course, and a lot of bathrooms.  Water stops were well-manned, and there was an excellent variety of Gatorade, a Gu stop for us, as well as water.  I was especially impressed with how clearly the split between the marathoners and half marathoners was defined – there was no way you could get confused on that.

The course. 

So. Hilly.  I mean, I run in Raleigh, I looked at the course beforehand, but that course was really really hilly, and really challenging.  It was not a day for a PR, and it was pretty much, to date, the most challenging race I’ve ever done.

The finishers celebration.

DSC_0298Very cool, and done in a HUGE venue, where you could cop a squat anywhere.  There was pizza, chocolate milk, bananas, and cold bottle waters for finishers, as well as some food trucks parked.  I kinda wish there were more food trucks, but there was adequate stuff to eat.

Overall?

Competitor has done it again, as far as pulling off a great race.  It’s streamlined, it’s neat, and people really come out to spectate these races.  Raleigh would be remiss in its duties to not allow them back.

That said…

The day was darkened by the loss of two of its competitors, participants in the half marathon who tragically lost their lives.  This was due to no fault of the race, and I truly wish for swift healing for the families of those participants lost.  That said, as I go forward and run in the future, I will be extra vigilant with keeping my body healthy, especially on a hot, hilly day like today was, and I plan on running this race again in the future.

How was your race or run this weekend?

 

I don’t know what to say.

The race was awesome.  The course was hot and hilly, and I was a little scared going in because of how ill I had been with my allergies all week, but I crushed it.  It was no PR, but the race was crushed.

Race Flex ) .png
Pre Race Photo

And then after the race, a cloud kind of drifted over our post-race celebrations, after we’d grabbed our free beer and headed out to a local bar (with terrible service) to grab some more non-free beers. After checking Twitter, our friend Jess found out that WRAL, the presenting sponsor, was reporting that two people had died at the race.

I don’t want to be funny, or silly, or crazy right now – I want to extend my deepest and most sincere condolences to the families of the two men who lost their lives today. I will catch you all soon ❤

I had a total meltdown.

I came home on Thursday night SORE.

My throat was sore.

My body was sore, on account of the fact that I woke up to run 4 miles with a coworker, and then I taught class around 6:30.  And I fantasized about the bath I would take that night, complete with a book with actual pages, and epsom salts.

So I turned on the water, and this is what happened.

20140410_222902

 

If you can’t tell what exactly is going on here, I can fill you on.  When I turned the water on, water filled with a black ash waterfalled, and I watched, in disbelief, as my clean bathtub started to become smeared and smutty.

And I lost it.

Regina-george-screaming-2-oI called Austin about 4 times.

I texted him.

And then I started to freak out.

My throat hurt. My body hurt. And I couldn’t get my warm bath.

So I screamed. I told Austin that I was going to kick down the door of the front office.  Austin called and asked if I wanted a hotel room to take a bath in.  I said I didn’t and that I’d rather just punch everybody.  I screamed for so long and laid on the floor for so long that Austin looked really worried. And then, like a child who had just thrown the most epic of fits, I fell into a deep sleep.

I threw a fit. And I’m sorry. We live in the greatest nation of the world, and I’m throwing a fit because I can’t take a bath when I want it?  I need to grow up. No, I didn’t get my bath, but I went to sleep in a warm bed, I have folks who care about me, food in my belly, and I think they might have fixed the water. So I might even have a bath. I’m lucky. And happy 🙂

I wrote a real thing.

I kinda forgot that I wrote this thing for NPR a few months ago, so when I got a call from a really cool Carol Jackson,  I sorta had no clue what she was talking about for like 10 seconds before I remembered I’d written a little something something.

Screen Shot 2014-04-11 at 11.57.28 PMClick through to read the article. 🙂

 

40 mangos later.

Fun fact: the plural of mango is either mangoes or mangos.  This makes me very uncomfortable, and I’m really not sure how to approach this.  Advice is welcome on how to reconcile this battle within myself.

Moving right along.

So, happy Saturday. I’m obsessed with you and I kinda hope you’re pretty obsessed with me too.

So, Friday after work, I sprinted over to the Raleigh Convention Center to work the Rock ‘n’ Roll Convention, and as a little preview to the race, I made sure to snap a few pics so that you all could share in the experience.

DSC_0219I pulled up into the expo lot and started getting excited (and very itchy from that yellow pollen) for all of this.  There is something so special about a good expo that makes your stomach do these amazing flips when you think about a race.

DSC_0221Hello!  Jambo!

Jambo

DSC_0222

Also the camera Sharon, my MIL got me is incredible BYE.

DSC_0223I worked the Gu booth with some really fun partners 🙂

DSC_0226The Brooks “booth” which I’m working tomorrow, is a small city.

DSC_0228Literally not kidding.  It’s a planet.

It has been so fun.  I am working the expo tomorrow as well, and really excited to work and run this race.  I also ran into Benjamin and Juan, the two boys from ESPN walking around the expo, and they said that I was gonna be really really happy with the footage.

After the expo, I ran over to Whole Foods, where Mexican Champagne Mangos were 69 cents each, so I stocked up on about 40. Don’t judge me, you’re being rude if you’re judging me right now, and I’m not interested in hearing it.

photo 1There were actually more mangos…

photo 2So I dehydrated some, I cut some up for smoothies, and made some mango baby food (mango sauce, sorta like applesauce but with mangos) with the help of my little sister, who’s pretty dank as a chef.  If you like the idea of mango sauce, shoot me an email, and maybe if you’re lucky, I’ll post you a recipe.

DSC_0229Austin got me these mason jars, which I sorta guess I need for our wedding anyways, so it worked out for my mango baby Cheri food.

How was your Friday? 

Here’s What! What three things are you obsessed with?

How is it Friday again?

Idk, I feel like I’ve been asking that a lot lately.  But I love it.

Okay, so if you missed on on last week, here you go 🙂

4.4.14

And onto my obsessions!

1.  Zyrtec.  Spring has sprung in good ol’ Carolina, and since I spent the entire afternoon outside, I am sick as a dog.  My throat is killing me.  Yes, I’ve been killing em with the neti pot, but I think my best bet is another Zyrtec, begging Austin to pick up some essentials for me from the Eckard/Rite Aid or whatever the hell you call it, and go to bed in like 5 minutes.

 

prodchoose-img2
Mama loves you.

2. “Quit Sleeping on Us”

This is my brother and he’s ridiculously talented.  He’s the one with the green mohawk PS.

3.  Holley Mangold

Duh.

4.  And I added a fourth cause I’m the boss and I can.  It’s Rock ‘n’ Roll time and I’m so excited I’m dead!  I’m also sorta bummed that my allergies have chosen this week to act up, but c’est la vie, right?

Okay, what three things are you excited about/obsessed with?